Polychrono, Halkidiki, Greece
The history of Polychrono begins in 650 BC, when they came to the peninsula of Cassandra and Eretria founded the colony of Naples, which, despite all the barbaric raids that saw it managed to survive in 540 AD when it was completely destroyed by the Huns. In the 11th century, gathered in this agro-pastoralist and built the village “Polychroo” which is so named because of the many flowers that were there. The village, during the revolution of 1821, burned and destroyed. Some years later, few survivors who had run away to save themselves, they returned and rebuilt the village, which was named because verbal corruption Polichrono. Visitors can enjoy clean and crystalline sea, with golden sand and velvet (7 kilometers beach deservingly every year the Blue Flag of Europe), walking in the vast pine forest, with its rich springs, to see the unique Mavrobara Lake, just 3 km. from Polychrono and 300 m altitude in the heart of Cassandra to the mountain, a wetland where they live two species of rare water-tortoises (Emys orbicularis & Mauremus caspica). The lake is protected by international treaties, because of particular ecological interest. One of the few sundials world of Greco-Roman times, have been detected intact, was recovered from the excavations in Polichrono Halkidiki. This finding is even more important, and sundials were constructed for a particular latitude, which was accurate only to the place which is usually manufactured. The clock is engineered Polychrono that can show the correct time each day both in Halkidiki and in Rome, France or China. The archaeologist of 16 Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities, Tsigarida Bettina, who has devoted many years of professional activity in the area of Halkidiki and in particular the ancient Kassandrias, was rewarded with this finding and the unique elements that pulled for viticulture and beekeeping at the peninsula of Halkidiki, in ancient times. The clock was located in a building of late antiquity in Polichrono and the information given is impressive clarity. “The clock is composed of hemispherical surface, in which there are eleven a.m. engraved lines, separating into twelve sections, which correspond to times of day. Vertical these are three other incised lines corresponding to the winter solstice, the equinox and summer solstice. In the middle of the hemispherical surface is fixed a bronze scale, which casts a shadow in the hemisphere, depending on the position of the twelve sections indicates the time of day. The shadow of the clock has the same length at all hours of the day, but changed along depending on the season. The shorter when there is the winter solstice and gradually increased to the maximum during the summer solstice. So the owners of the clock were able to calculate not only the hours of day and date ” , said Tsigarida newspaper “Ethnos”. According to the archaeologist, “in Halkidiki should come as a votive offering to a temple, perhaps of Zeus Ammon.” The visitor should observe closely the church of Agios Athanasios (1912), patron of the village square of Christ with the Church of the Nativity of Christ, which dates from 1863 and finally the mill open to the press. It is also worth visiting the ancient cemetery and the wooded hill of the Acropolis, the ancient city. Can still enjoy the highest quality domestic products such as olive oil, honey, fruits and fish. For pleasant accommodation and entertainment of visiting guests the village offers furnished apartments and hotel rooms, clinics, pharmacies, nightclubs, restaurants, taverns, supermarkets, bakeries, shops, crafts etc.